Our Faculty

sociology

PAUL ALMEIDA

Professor Almeida studies social movements with a focus on collective action over social, economic, political, and environmental rights.

Email: palmedia@ucmerced.edu

camila alvarez

Professor Alvarez studies environmental sociology, environmental justice, and quantitative methodology.

Email: calvarez55@ucmerced.edu

IRENEE R. BEATTIE

Professor Beattie studies education inequality along the lines of race, class, gender and sexuality. Current projects focus on the importance of social capital for academic success among college students from marginalized groups.

Email: ibeattie@ucmerced.edu

KYLE DODSON

Professor Dodson studies the role of political institutions in fostering political behavior and attitudes, with an emphasis on cross-national differences and over-time change.

Email: kdodson2@ucmerced.edu

CHARLIE EATON

Professor Eaton studies how organizations shape social inequality through politics, public policy, and and the economy in multiple domains, including finance, higher education, healthcare, and and urban planning.

Email: ceaton2@ucmerced.edu

NELLA VAN DYKE

Professor Van Dyke specializes in the study of social movements and hate crimes, with a focus on coalitions, social-movement tactics and mobilizing contexts.

Email: nvandyke@ucmerced.edu

EDWARD OROZCO FLORES

Professor Flores studies the post-incarceration experience, with a focus on race, religion and local social movements.

Email: eflores52@ucmerced.edu

TANYA GOLASH-BOZA

Professor Golash-Boza’s research focuses on the human rights implications of U.S. immigration policy, with an emphasis on deportations, as well on race and racism in the U.S. and Latin America.

Email: tgolash-boza@ucmerced.edu

LAURA HAMILTON

Professor Hamilton studies gender, family and education, with a specific focus on the transitions to adulthood among college students.

Email: lhamilton2@ucmerced.edu

WHITNEY LASTER PIRTLE

Professor Laster Pirtle studies race globally, with a focus on groups positioned in the middle of the racial hierarchy, as well as racial identity and health disparities.

Email: wpirtle@ucmerced.edu

yang lor

Professor Yang studies education, stratification, culture, race & ethnicity, Asian Americans, and political participation.

Email: ylor2@ucmerced.edu

ZULEMA VALDEZ

Professor Valdez specializes in the study of social inequality in labor markets, entrepreneurship, and health from an intersectional perspective (race, class, & gender) and among Latinas/os in the U.S.

Email: zvaldez@ucmerced.edu

ELIZABETH WHITT

Professor Whitt’s research centers on the study of higher education with a focus on college students’ learning and successes, and issues and trends in student affairs practices.

Email: ewhitt@ucmerced.edu

MARJORIE S. ZATZ

Professor Zatz’s research focuses on immigration policy, youth and families, and on race/ethnicity, gender and juvenile and criminal court processing and sanctioning.

Email: mzatz@ucmerced.edu

Contact

IRENEE R. BEATTIE

Sociology Graduate Program Chair

Email: ibeattie@ucmerced.edu

Website: sociology.ucmerced.edu

GRADUATE STUDIES | SOCIOLOGY